A Dream, Swift

A Dream, Swift
by Addie Fielding
February 2000

Introduction & Disclaimer

A missing scene from Bewitchments.

All items contained on these pages are non-profit amateur fiction. The Enchantments of Flesh and Spirit, The Bewitchments of Love and Hate, The Fulfilments of Fate and Desire and all characters named in those books are the copyright of Storm Constantine and her publishers. No infringement on the copyrights are intended.

A Dream, Swift

I watched as he disappeared into my father’s room with his hair disheveled and a slightly wild look in his eyes. I could still taste him, still feel his arms about me. This couldn’t be goodbye. I would wait for him outside. He had to talk to me. I needed him one more time.

What about Seel? I thought about him sleeping in our room upstairs. Could I do this? What would I tell him in the morning? That he came to say goodbye to my father. Would I tell him any more? Hastily making my decision, I unlocked the heavy doors and slipped outside into the windy night. The cold air buffeted my gown. I pulled it closer about me and cursed that I hadn’t thought to pull on some warm clothes. As I made my way across the yard, my feet sloshed in the puddles from the previous day’s rain. The moon was bright and I could see right up the path to the houses beyond. No one stirred. I prayed this dark har, who was supposed to be following him, wouldn’t appear.

I waited…

The ground was cold as I crouched down and brought my knees up resting my head on them. My thoughts were in turmoil. His breath had been dark and his soul had felt even darker.

Was he really here, now, in my father’s room? There were no lights on in the house as I stared into the darkness, shivering slightly as the wind curled up beneath my gown and caressed my naked body.

Peering into the night, my eyes strained to catch any movement around the house. Nothing… I was beginning to despair, to think he had slipped out quietly without me noticing. I hugged myself to keep from freezing and stood up.

Was that a shadow flitting across the lawn? I held my breath and waited. The shadow flickered again against the house as it was caught in the light of the moon. It was him. It had to be. I began to run, afraid to shout out his name in case I woke those inside, but also afraid that if I didn’t he would slip away without me catching him. With all my will I projected into his mind. “‘Cal, wait, please.”

The figure ahead of me halted for a second, then continued on. I was desperate. I galloped as fast as I could, leaping over bushes, almost falling over the garden furniture, but he was evading me.

I shouted out now, thinking I was far enough away from the house now. “Cal, please.”

The figure stopped and turned around, his face hidden in the shadows, but I knew it was him from the way he was standing, with his hands on his hips, as if he was saying “well, come on then.”

I sprinted the last few yards as he waited for me, then fell into his arms. “Please, don’t go just yet. Please.”

Cal looked about nervously, his eyes darting from the shadows back to my face. He tried to pull away from me, but I held him firm. “I would like to stay with you, Swift, but they are coming for me.”

“Who are?” I looked about but could see nothing moving other than the branches of the trees swaying in the breeze.

“Swift, I can’t tell you.” He glanced over my shoulder. “We can’t stand out here in the open.” I tugged on his hand and he reluctantly followed me down an almost hidden laneway towards a ramshackle outbuilding. “Swift, please…” His words were blown away in the wind. I pushed aside the broken door and slipped inside, sensing him relaxing a little now that we were hidden.

I pulled him into an embrace. He was freezing cold. “Let’s get you warmed up a bit.”

Still pulling him by the hand I found a cosy corner filled with old hay and made him sit down with me. “He won’t live till morning, Swift.” He was wiping a stray tear from his face.

“I’m glad I could say goodbye.”

“I am too. Did he know you, Cal? It’s just that since his return he has been like a dry husk, empty of feeling and most of his memories.”

“He knew me, Swift.” Cal said softly, his head bowed and his hands clasped together in his lap. “I should go. I cannot risk you getting hurt.”

“No one knows of this barn. It’s hidden on all sides by thick bushes and trees. It hasn’t been used for years.”

I reached over, took his hands in mine, and brought them up to my face. I kissed his fingers. “Swift…”

“It’s all right. You don’t have to tell me anything, I just want to be here with you for a little while.” I moved closer so we were touching and raised my lips to his. At first, I could feel nothing but his cold unyielding mouth, then the feelings came pouring out of him. I almost fell backwards with the power of his emotions, the darkness of his spirit, but his strong hands held me upright.

He pulled away from me abruptly. “I thought I heard a noise.”

We both held our breath as we listened to the sounds of the night. “Just the wind…” I promised.

I turned to face him again and in the dark I could see the worried frown on his face and the stiff way he was holding himself. “Here, let me help you relax.”

I pushed him down onto the hay beneath us and moved on top of him. He sighed deeply and shut his eyes. With my trembling fingers I began to caress his cheek, his throat, then pushed my hands into his shirt. He had lost weight since I had seen him last, and could feel his ribs beneath his finely muscled chest.

He protested a little with a soft groan as I unbuttoned his jacket and shirt, then pulled them off his shoulders. “Swift… I… want you.”

“Are you sure,” I crooned into his ear, my tongue darting into it for a small taste. He giggled.

“How can I resist you? How could I ever resist you?”

“Don’t try,”

I continued undressing him slowly, slithering back over his thighs until I was laying on top of him again. My gown had fallen open and we were finally skin to skin, heating up in our cold dark corner. As I moved slowly his moans became louder, and his hands began their own exploration of my body, running sensuously down my back to my buttocks.

Would this be the last aruna we would share? Sensing some urgency in his movements I let him take the dominant ouana position, as I laid back on the ground and opened myself to him.

Cal’s blonde hair fell about him like a veil as he peered into my eyes. “One last time, my beautiful Swift.”

I felt him enter me with his heated ouana-lm, and cried out when he flowered deep within my body. I didn’t want to let him go, but I knew he wasn’t mine. I knew he had never really been mine, for the name that escaped his lips at our moment of mutual orgasm was “Pell.”

With a shudder we collapsed together on the hay, our bodies entwined. Cal’s chest was heaving as he opened his eyes and looked at me. “I’m sorry, Swift.”

“What for?”

He shrugged, realising I wasn’t upset with him, then kissed me softly on the cheek. “I have to go. I shouldn’t have stayed as long as I did.”

“Be safe.” I squeezed his hand.

“Be happy with Seel.” He winked at me, dressed quickly and disappeared into the night.

It was nearly dawn when I finally slipped into my cosy bed beside Seel. He stirred a little as my cold body touched his and I put my arms around him.

“I love you, Seel.”

He snuggled close, kissed me on the cheek and sighed. “Did you say goodbye to Cal for me?”

The End

Leave a Reply

